When the internet connection is slow or inconsistent, automatic synchronization can interrupt your use of the software. There may be other occasions when you don't wish auto synchronization to kick in - such as when connected via a mobile hotspot on a limited data plan. You can disable auto synchronization:

  1. From the ToolsĀ menu select Options...
  2. Select the Advanced tab
  3. Deselect the option Synchronize at startup

  4. Now you can synchronize at a more convenient time by clicking the Synchronize button at the top of the NavigatorĀ panel